Samuel Dolbee, Assistant Professor of History at Vanderbilt University (USA), will discuss his book Locusts of Power: Borders, Empire, and Environment in the Modern Middle East (Cambridge University Press, 2023) in the Greenhouse environmental humanities book talk series on Monday, 11 March 2024, at 16:00 Central European time / 10:00 Central time in US. (Note that because of ‘spring ahead’ in North America coming before Europe, this is one hour earlier than usual for those of you there: 11:00 Eastern, 10:00 Central, 9:00 Mountain & 8:00 Pacific).

Zoom link: https://stavanger.zoom.us/j/65512212029?pwd=QSt1RWZHSkJodExSOWc4UEp0RFU1UT09

In this highly original environmental history, Samuel Dolbee sheds new light on borders and state formation by following locusts and revealing how they shaped both the environment and people’s imaginations from the late Ottoman Empire to the Second World War. Drawing on a wide range of archival research in multiple languages, Dolbee details environmental, political, and spatial transformations in the region’s history by tracing the movements of locusts and their intimate relationship to people in motion, including Arab and Kurdish nomads, Armenian deportees, and Assyrian refugees, as well as states of the region. With locusts and moving people at center stage, surprising continuities and ruptures appear in the Jazira, the borderlands of today’s Iraq, Syria, and Turkey. Transcending approaches focused on the collapse of the Ottoman Empire or the creation of nation states, Dolbee provides a new perspective on the modern Middle East grounded in environmental change, state violence, and popular resistance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

css.php